The Next Big Thing

I’ve been tagged by the awesome Donna Galanti in a blog game called The Next Big Thing. The game involves answering questions about your work in progress or new piece that you’d like to become the next big thing. For me, that’s my WIP, Flesh & Fire.

Is my stuff good enough to be The Next Big Thing? I’ll let you be the judge.I’m tagging five other authors to take part. So here we go:

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing

1. What is the title of your book?

-FLESH & FIRE

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

-It’s an expansion on a novella that I wrote in the summer of 2011. It was one of those wonderful ideas that all of us kind of hope for, in the sense that the story really wrote itself. I finished 20,000 words in a little less than three weeks. The idea for that came from a few places. Most prominently I was on the verge of going through a life change, which is always scary, even if its positive change, because you kind of get used to being in a certain place in your life. So I wrote the piece from a place of fear, like, what if I woke up one day in the future and realized my life was in the toilet. I would probably look back and examine my decisions that I’d made over the course of my life and the circumstances I’d encountered. I think that’s something everyone has gone through at some point. Of course, since my interests lean toward the darker side of life, I wrapped this idea up in a story about ghosts and Hell.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

-It’s a horror novel, but it contains some strong romantic elements. That may seem like a contradiction, but make no mistake, even hardened horror fans aren’t immune to getting swept up in a good love story.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

-Since my hero is middle-aged and I’m a HUGE Breaking Bad fan, I would love to see Bryan Cranston in the lead role. For the female lead, I didn’t have someone in mind until yesterday when I saw The Moth Diaries. Lily Cole embodies a perfect duality of appearing innocent and fragile, but full of dark secrets.

5. What is a one-sentence synopsis of the book?

-A successful, yet unhappy, family man’s life is turned upside down at the appearance of his undead former lover and the message she brings: she’s on the run from Hell and needs his help.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an angency?

-I plan to shop it around to agents and traditional publishing houses. I have nothing against indie publishing. My mother-in-law does it, and does it well. That said, based on what I’ve read and witnessed, I don’t think it’s worth your time unless you already have at least 3 books written. Since I’m not there yet, indie publishing isn’t on the table for me. That doesn’t mean it won’t ever be, but right now, it’s not an option. This philosophy, by the way, applies to novels. I’ve self-published one short story on Smashwords, and plan to do another soon. I feel like putting short stories out there (whether independently or traditionally) can be a good way to build your brand before you get a book deal.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

-It’s original incarnation only took three weeks. The process of expanding it into a full-length novel is taking much longer, but I’m still having just as much fun.

8. What other books would you compare this story to in your genre?

-The Hellbound Heart by Clive Barker and Dark Hollow by Brian Keene

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

-After going to the Philadelphia Writer’s Conference this past June I was pretty juiced, and since I was pretty in love with the story contained within the novella version, I decided to go back and expand it.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

-I describe the book in my head as the existential crisis of American Beauty and the desperate romance of Bonnie and Clyde wrapped in the skin of surreal horror. If that doesn’t sound cool, I don’t know what does.

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

Donna Galanti tagged me and I’m tagging some of my favorite people.

A.C. Wise

Vacen Taylor

Jon McGoran

Laurie Kellogg

David Kempf

Please visit their blogs. They will be posting their answers in week 14 (Sept 25-Oct 1)

Message for the tagged authors and interested others:

Rules of The Next Big Thing

***Use this format for your post

***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress)

***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing:

What is the working title of your book?

Where did the idea come from for the book?

What genre does your book fall under?

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

Be sure to line up your five people in advance.

7 responses to “The Next Big Thing

  1. Lucas, LOVE your one sentence synopsis and love your words on what will pique readers interest “the desperate romance of Bonnie and Clyde wrapped in the skin of surreal horror.” So awesome. I say you’ve got all the hooks in place…write on!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Next Big Thing « Maria Grace

  3. Pingback: The Next Big Thing | A.C. Wise

  4. Pingback: I know a life of crime has led me to this sorry fate, and yet, I blame A.C. Wise. | Carrie Cuinn

  5. Pingback: The Next Big Thing! | The View Outside

  6. Pingback: The Next Big Thing

  7. Pingback: Interview with Crime/Dark Fantasy Author Lee Thompson | Lucas Mangum

Leave a Reply

